Muse India - Satish Verma Young Writer Award 2015

It's finally out and official: "The winner of the Muse India - Satish Verma Young Writer Award 2015 for poetry is Aditi Rao (for The Fingers Remember) for 'the range and variety of her poems, her innovative craft, the solidity of her images and the unflinching fortitude of her unique voice.'" Big thanks to Arpita Das for giving the book a home in the big, wide world. And a special shoutout to Akhil Katyal, my little book's favourite uncle, and my favourite person and poet to share a shortlist with!

A little more on the award below, from the press release:

"Muse India Young Writer Awards are given to recognise and encourage outstanding literary talent. The awards are given in the categories of poetry and fiction. Instituted by Muse India, the literary eJournal, the awards are given during the Hyderabad Literary Festival. A panel of senior professors, besides editors of Muse India, evaluated the entries to short-list books for the final round judged by nationally reputed writers. The panel included eminent poets and critics K Satchidanandan, Ranjit Hoskote, Meena Kandasamy, Sukrita Paul Kumar and GJV Prasad among others."

Here's the full, official announcement